Question Should I Return This Monitor? Dell U2720QM Dull in Comparison to My Other Monitor

apiltch

Editor-in-Chief
Editor
Sep 15, 2014
Disclaimer: this is a first-world problem. But given that, I have a small monitor dilemma and I'm curious what you think I should do.

So I have a 4x monitor setup (2x 4K Lenovo L28u-10 monitors which are nice but mediocre color-wise, 2x 1080p old Dells) and I decided this holiday season that I was going to replace the 1080p screens with 4Ks and, while I'm at it, get monitors with really vibrant colors. As a TH editor, I hate to admit it, but I care about image quality than gaming. It's not color accuracy per se; I just like nice color (who doesn't?)

So, a few weeks ago, I saw someone was selling a used Lenovo P27u-10, which boasts 99% Adobe RGB and 145% sRGB, for $200 on eBay. I thought "this will match my existing Lenovo monitors but with better color." With some trepidation (about it being used), I bought one, got it and it turned out to be . . . awesome. The colors are the most vibrant I've ever had on a monitor that I have owned. It's great.

Now, I needed a second 4K monitor, and I didn't see anybody else selling used P27u-10s on eBay for reasonable prices and spending $300+ on a used monitor from an unknown source seemed like a risky idea. Lenovo doesn't make this monitor anymore new and the new version, the P27u-20, is a little pricey for my budget (going for $550 on sale).

So on BF, I ordered a Dell Ultrasharp U2720QM (aka U2720Q), which has great reviews (we don't review productivity monitors at Tom's Hardware so I'm going by tests on other sites) and claims to have a wide color gamut (99% sRGB, 95% DCI-P3 and 82% Adobe, which is not as much as the Lenovo but still should be good). It normally goes for around $550 but was $349 for BF.