[SOLVED] Should i use m.2 ssd's provided heatsink or motherboard's provided heatsink?

Sep 12, 2020
I'm new to m.2 nvme ssd and i just bought adata ssd SX8200 Pro 2TB which included it's own heatsink and my motherboard is Z390 aorus pro wifi which also included it's own heatsink that they call thermal guard. There is not many info about each of these included heatsink. So which one is better for cooling or is it better to not use any heatsink at all?

Solution
so you mean i shouldn't use any heatsink at all?
Nope, not what I meant. If you don't use a heatsink at all, your drive might go well into the 90s or higher, above the rated values. Which is not the greatest for the controller I believe. I'm saying that if you cool too much, you could actually hurt performance.
Sep 12, 2020
If you're talking about the ssd dimension it is 80 x 22 x 3.5 mm and the form factor is M.2 2280. As for the material i'm not sure but i just assume they made of metal.

dimtodim

Reputable
I'm new to m.2 nvme ssd and i just bought adata ssd SX8200 Pro 2TB which included it's own heatsink and my motherboard is Z390 aorus pro wifi which also included it's own heatsink that they call thermal guard. There is not many info about each of these included heatsink. So which one is better for cooling or is it better to not use any heatsink at all?
its same...if u have extra m.2 port put that memory in thaht slot if u dont have use heatsink from motheboard in that way u can hide m.2

Sep 12, 2020
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1FL-BS4XGIEp0g5ncLK-mdgC4Vq0QW1By/view?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1FIJURXxpsrEJcagQFA8Iw2D-4ox3GBoK/view?usp=sharing