Simple suggestion for experts dealing with people new to Linux

MrCloudDenton

Reputable
Apr 23, 2014
Hi I've been using Linux for several years, I don't consider myself an expert but am reasonably knowledgeable. I also think I've stayed in touch with how people new to Linux think and view the problems they encounter as I still come across things that I find difficult.

Just a something I feel should be kept in mind when dealing with people new to Linux.

GUI

People new to Linux have often never used command prompt in Windows, ever. Explain to them how to do things in Linux with the GUI.

Getting them into a mind-set of simply Googling and copying and pasting sudo commands into terminal in my opinion is a big mistake, and can definitely go wrong.

Try and reinforce that they should be understanding what there doing. Teach a man to fish rather than giving fish after fish after fish.

Any distribution from the Ubuntu family (Xubuntu, Lubuntu etc.) can be used 100% from the GUI with a normal home user, year in year out.

I hope this didn't seem pretentious, I know for a fact there are people on these forums that are 100 times more experienced and adept with Linux than me.

I'm afraid that I disagree. My belief is that the use of GUIs masks what is really happening rather than helping users to understand what they are doing. This is not helped by the fact that there are so many different GUIs that do the same task.

This is particularly important when, as so often happens, the problem involves a video driver - or other GUI component - that is not working correctly. Don't treat Linux like Windows; much of its beauty is that most configuration can be done be editing simple text files. Most of the tools to solve Linux problems (and the logs that tell you what those problems are) work best in a simple shell.

MrCloudDenton

Reputable
Apr 23, 2014