Fett1138

Distinguished
Nov 6, 2011
Hi,

This is my first time posting on Tom's Hardware. I have a new Corsair Force 3 120GB solid state drive with Windows 7 Ultimate installed. Every time I would put it to sleep, it would turn off and give me the "Windows did not shut down successfully" message. I talked to the people at Fry's (who have helped me out throughout building the computer), and they told me never to put the SSD to sleep. Sleep is a feature that I would really like to keep available, so I looked up the problem here (where I have also looked while building my computer, but never posted or created an account) and figured I'd try disabling hybrid sleep, now it sleeps like it should and comes back up without any problems. However, I just want to make sure that using regular sleep won't kill my SSD. This is my second SSD, as my first one (a Kingston) died, probably because of putting it to sleep, as I just learned, so I'm sure you can understand why I'm cautious.

Thanks,
Connor Montgomery

Solution
"Sleep" leaves programs and data in RAM, turns off the monitor and suspends the CPU. It still uses power to keep the data in RAM alive. If your system is battery powered and the batteries get too low, the system will dump RAM data to the system drive (SSD, if that's that the system is installed on) and then shut down completely. If data is still in RAM then restart is almost instant.

Hibernate writes programs and data to the system drive or SSD and then turns off the computer. It consumes no power. Restart is slower than in sleep mode because of the need to load programs and data back from the hard drive.

Hybrid sleep writes programs and data to the system drive or SSD for protection against power failures, but also keeps...