[SOLVED] SSD, GPU and MOBO compatibility/functionality question

pixelmurderer92

Commendable
Jul 17, 2018
Hello,

My SSD recently died and I needed some information regarding the functionality between my Motherboard, GPU, SSD, etc. before I replace it. This was the only forum I found that seemed reliable. Hoping it's still in use.

I've been using a computer with the following specs:

MOBO: MSI z97 Gaming 5
CPU: Intel i7-4790K @4.0GHz 8M
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 2 x 4 GB CL 8-8-8-24
GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 1060 Gaming X 6G
PSU: Corsair TX650 V2
HDD: WD Black 1TB (64 MB)
SSD: Samsung 860 EVO 250 GB M.2 2280 PCIe 2.0 x2

And I've been told that my motherboard only has 16 PCIe lanes, and using a M.2 SSD will use up some of these lanes, causing my GPU to work at x8 instead of x16 PCIe lanes. Someone else said it'll do the same to my HDD because it's a SATA III SSD. I don't really understand these things, I'm new to building computers, and I mainly use my computer for basic gaming. They told me it'll drop my framerate a little by decreasing my GPU's performance, and it's already low in many games, can't afford to lose any! Even if it's 2-3 frames a second.

To clarify, my questions are:
1. How many PCIe lanes does my motherboard have? 16? And will they be used up by a M.2 SSD, causing my GPU to use x8 instead of x16?
2. How about the HDD? Will the same happen to it? Is it going to make my SATA III hdd slower?
3. Should I get a Samsung 860 EVO that is 2.5" and not M.2 2280 to avoid either of the above? And if there's a speed difference between the two (I've been told M.2>2.5"), how big is it?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

P.S. https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/Z97-GAMING-5/Specification This is the motherboard I have, but I don't understand much about the functionality of PCIe. It says 3 PCIe 3.0 x16 ports I think? And the M.2 Port is PCIe 2.0 x2? I'm lost. :/

Solution