Some advice for a newbie?

Apr 5, 2018
Hey guys. So this will be my first time that I'm overclocking and the first time I've purchase an overclockable cpu. This is my current setup:

cpu: i7 8700k

cooling: Phanteks PH-TC12DX 120mm PWM

mobo: Asus Prime Z370-A

I don't wish to OC much at all. All I want to do is run all cores at 4.7ghz. Will it suffice to just sync all cores to 47 without altering voltages and any other settings (keeping them on auto)? Also, is my cooling sufficient to run a chip at 4.7ghz on all cores, indefinitely? Any advice would be much appreciated.

introaether

Commendable
Mar 11, 2018
I'm no expert, but hopefully I'm past the newbie stage. So I can offer you this.

Firstly. Understand that to achieve an overclock you are going to need some software, tools that help decide things such as; "Is my cooling good enough?"!

I'd start off by downloading and installing HWMonitor. We use this to monitor temps. There are two temps here you'll need to look out for

1) CPU Temp - This is the socket temperature.
2) Package Temp - This is the core temp.

Next you'll need software to stress the CPU. I'd suggest downlaoding and installing Prime 95. Although, there are other (some might argue, better) options available. We stress the CPU by maximising its workload and by doing so, we check its stability and we can also check its temperature under load.

Next up, download and install CPU-Z. We can monitor lots of info here too and cross reference it with what HWMonitor is saying.

Now, before you dive in and start overclocking. Its a good idea to run some test with what you currently have.

Do a blend test on P95 and monitor your temps. These should settle after 15 mins or so. Also, take a note of the current Core frequency and voltage. These are the stock settings and are a good place to start the OC from.

I'd also downlaod and install Cinebench. We can use this to benchmark the CPU and see what effect our OC is having on performance.