Question Spark in computer wont turn on

Jul 2, 2019
I was playing fortnite the other day when I saw like a spark of electricity in my computer and It made like a noise I can’t reqlly remember it, it was kinda odd noise but it caused my computer to turn of after like 10 seconds of me just looking at my computer wondering what had just happened it started smelling like some sort of burnt hardware and woudlnt turn on no more I was just wondering if I can even get this fixed or if my computer is gone

Jul 2, 2019
Depends what caused the spark, and what else (if anything) it damaged.

Please post your full system specs.
I’ll post everything I know of I got a gtx 970, gigabyte Ga-h110m-s2h-gsm, and al-d500exp . Like I said I’m new to computers I’m very sorry I’ll take a picture and post the link in the forums so u can take a look also

Just a couple wild guesses... that little board sitting on bottom of case could have shorted to the metal case and taken out PSU. Either that or the PSU alone could have just simply blown since it is really not very good unit anyway.

The big problem you face, though: if that sketch PSU blew, it could easily lack protections to prevent blowing the VRM's on the motherboard which would in turn blow the CPU. Yes, everything from CPU to motherboard and maybe even GPU.

And to add to the problem: if you attach new, good parts to it the bad PSU could blow them... or if you attach a good PSU to it the bad parts could blow IT. So you have to take this to someone who knows how to use a meter to check voltages and resistances before swapping in parts if you want to be sure and not damage new ones.

bignastyid

Titan
I’ll post everything I know of I got a gtx 970, gigabyte Ga-h110m-s2h-gsm, and al-d500exp . Like I said I’m new to computers I’m very sorry I’ll take a picture and post the link in the forums so u can take a look also