SSD Boot Drive and two 1 TB drives in RAID 0 for storage?

epiphanyplx

Distinguished
Sep 13, 2009
Okay, I am new to RAID but am trying to learn how to do it, more for fun than because I actually need a performance boost.
Here is my system:

ASUS P7P55D (Vanilla)
i5-750 2.66 (recently overclocked to 3.71!! I know it's old news to most of you, but it's my first OC so still excited about that..)
8 GBs DDR3 (4 gb 2000 G.SKILLS ram + 4 gb 1600 OCZ ram) - I know this isn't ideal, I think I'm fine with 4 gigs of ram but had the other sticks sitting around for a bit and figured I might as well put them in
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 SATA 3Gb/s 1TB Hard Drive - More on this below
HITACHI Deskstar 2TB 7200 RPM 32MB SATA 3.0Gb/s - I have an extensive video collection and recently bought this because 1 TB was no longer enough
Radeon HD 5850 - woot
Some sort of DVD Burner or another, doubt it matters
Oh and my power supply is 700 watt Antec so I think it can handle all of this
I run Windows 7 64 bit.

So now that you know what I'm working with, here's what I'm trying to do:
I recently ordered an Intel X25-M 80 gigabyte SSD after doing some research and finding that it seemed to be one of the best out there at the moment. Of course, the next day I see it $20 cheaper on sale, but that is neither here nor there. :D
My plan is to use this drive as my boot drive, storing Windows 7 on it, maybe Photoshop since it always takes so long to load. One of the questions I would like to get answered here is how many of my applications should I actually put on my SSD? Which ones matter the most? Photoshop is by far the slowest opening program I use. I normally play one game at a time for a month or so and might store that on there as well.
I know there are lots of settings I have to change, changing page file location, turn off defrag, etc. If you have any advice that would be nice but I think I found some decent articles.