SSD boot problem

Michael_731

Prominent
Jul 29, 2017
25
0
530
0
I have cloned my SSD drive (Samsung evo 960), using the data migration from samasung. However it will not boot and laod up my pc when i try to boot from SSD instead of Harddrive

Can you please help?
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
153,771
11,025
175,990
24,035


If this were me, I would buy or borrow a USB SATA dock.
Use that for the HDD.

Power up with the dock OFF.
Once it is up running with the SSD, then turn on the dock and wipe the HDD.
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
153,771
11,025
175,990
24,035


At the end of the process, did you remove the original drive, and allow the system to try to start from the new drive?
Have you checked the boot order priority?


Specific steps for a successful clone operation:
-----------------------------
Verify the actual used space on the current drive is significantly below the size of the new SSD
Download and install Macrium Reflect (or Samsung Data Migration, if a Samsung SSD)
Power off
Disconnect ALL drives except the current C and the new SSD
Power up
Run the Macrium Reflect (or Samsung Data Migration)
Select ALL the partitions on the existing C drive
Click the 'Clone' button
Wait until it is done
When it finishes, power off
Disconnect ALL drives except for the new SSD
This is to allow the system to try to boot from ONLY the SSD
Swap the SATA cables around so that the new drive is connected to the same SATA port as the old drive
Power up, and verify the BIOS boot order
If good, continue the power up

It should boot from the new drive, just like the old drive.
Maybe reboot a time or two, just to make sure.

If it works, and it should, all is good.

Later, reconnect the old drive and wipe as necessary.
Delete the original boot partitions, here:
https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/windows/en-US/4f1b84ac-b193-40e3-943a-f45d52e23685/cant-delete-extra-healthy-recovery-partitions-and-healthy-efi-system-partition?forum=w8itproinstall
-----------------------------

 

Michael_731

Prominent
Jul 29, 2017
25
0
530
0


PC MATE HP17OA mother board and windows 10 with a 1tb hardrive and now a NVme 960 SSD
 

Michael_731

Prominent
Jul 29, 2017
25
0
530
0


I didnt disconnect the old drives, so how do I start again? (wipe the SSD clone)
 

Michael_731

Prominent
Jul 29, 2017
25
0
530
0


How do I wipe just the SSD?
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
153,771
11,025
175,990
24,035


With the SSD removed, the system boots up properly from the HDD, correct?

If so, then just redo the clone operation. That should wipe the drive in the process.
 

Michael_731

Prominent
Jul 29, 2017
25
0
530
0


 

Michael_731

Prominent
Jul 29, 2017
25
0
530
0


All done I now get to the stage where it boots on the SSD alone but when I shut down and place the HDD back in with the SSD, I get the select a reboot device message?
 

Michael_731

Prominent
Jul 29, 2017
25
0
530
0


there is no sata cable btw it is in the motherboard like a PCie

 

Michael_731

Prominent
Jul 29, 2017
25
0
530
0


I have done this but then I do not have access to my HDD when my PC is on. I have noticed that even though the prioties on the bios indicates the SSD is going to power on first when I go to save the changes it states that the "Windows boot manager is going to power the HDD" ? am i getting something wrong in the bios maybe?
 

Michael_731

Prominent
Jul 29, 2017
25
0
530
0


Yeah everything is clonned to the SSD because my pc runs fine when its just the SSD in. The problem occurs when I try to run them both (in order to get to the stage where I can delete wipe my hardrive in windows)
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
153,771
11,025
175,990
24,035


What exactly does it say when you try to wipe the entire HDD?

You'll almost certainly have to do this from the commandline, with diskpart.
The clean command
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
153,771
11,025
175,990
24,035


Where, exactly, does it fail to boot up?
In the BIOS, or withing Windows?
 

Michael_731

Prominent
Jul 29, 2017
25
0
530
0


the withing windows, it comes up with a black screen and a message saying reboot and select a proper device press any key
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
153,771
11,025
175,990
24,035


If this were me, I would buy or borrow a USB SATA dock.
Use that for the HDD.

Power up with the dock OFF.
Once it is up running with the SSD, then turn on the dock and wipe the HDD.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY