SSD Cycle Count

qzmpal

Honorable
Apr 19, 2013
Hi Experts,
I'm planning to buy a SSD. ( preferably a Enterprise SSD)
I want to practice and take the VMWare certification. I want to put this SSD in my laptop, since it gives me mobility and I can practice while at school as well. My Plan is to move this SSD into a Xeon based desktop in the future.

I have a T410 and the Thinkpad Power management software shows me how many cycles are used on my battery. - Thereby giving me a clear idea on how the battery is going to perform over the course of time. ( 346 cycles for past 12+ months. ) and the First used Date, etc.

So my doubt here is ..

(1). Is there any software for a SSD, which gives me all the details like the way I get for my battery. The reason I'm asking this question is, I'm a student and I can't afford nearly $1000 for a 960GB or 1TB SSD,

(2). Typically how many cycles count will be there on the SSD, Brand new sealed?
Will it be Zero - times powered on or will it have some count on it? - may be the company tests it before it ships out to consumers or Enterprise Users.

So, I'm looking at buying a SSD on Ebay. So I want to make sure that I buy the correct SSD. Sorry, I know when I'm talking about Enterprise SSD, I should not think about money. but right now, I'don't have any other option. I need to pay my school fees as well myself.

Thanks a lot for Your suggestions and extremely Sorry for my ignorance. I tried my best to give You a better picture of my situation.

Thank You for Your Time, effort and Patience. I highly appreciate that.
God Bless.

Solution
Steer clear of ebay for any kind of storage media, stick to the main suppliers.
You don't need an enterprise drive, these are simply capable of taking more read/write operations on the cells. A normal desktop SSD will be more than capable enough. I'm still using drives I got 5 years ago.