SSD/Motherboard/GPU Issues - BSoD: Driver PNP Watchdog + Inaccessible Boot Device

gapplepiepvp

Reputable
Jul 26, 2018
I've been using my PC for a couple years now and a week ago my PC started freezing up and lagging very bad shortly after booting up (I updated Windows the night before). It was so bad that I could not open the start menu so I turned off my PC manually. After turning it back on, it got stuck on the motherboard logo screen (where you enter BIOS etc.), Asrock for me. After maybe 3-5 minutes I saw the Windows spinning-dots loading screen. I was stuck there for 10+ minutes before I was finally sent to my lock screen. I pressed a key to enter the password prompt and a couple minutes later it popped up. Pressing keys would sometimes result in them showing up but before I could ever get my password entered the prompt would close due to inactivity. After this I plugged in a Windows recovery USB and booted from that. The startup repair didn't work. After some more restarts my PC stopped sending me to the lock screen. Windows would give me the loading screen and the caption, "Preparing Automatic Repair." Then I'd get a BSoD with stop code "DRIVER PNP WATCHDOG" or "INACCESSIBLE BOOT DEVICE." I went into the BIOS and saw that no boot device was being detected (aside from the USB). I unplugged my SSD and plugged it into a different sata port and went into the BIOS again to see that it was being seen now. However, booting from it still resulted in the same BSoD. Going back into the BIOS I saw that the SSD was no longer being seen again. Just recently my monitor stopped working as well. The blinking blue light indicated that it was recieving power but was not recieving a signal from the GPU. I've tried two other HDMI cables and another monitor with no luck. My GPU only has DVI and HDMI capatability. I have not yet tried using a DVI cable so perhaps the problem is just limited to the HDMI port on the GPU? I'm assuming both the GPU and SSD problems are not coinciden