SSD not UEFI

MRog40

Prominent
Apr 21, 2017
I'm kind of new to all of this so please correct me if I'm wrong.

Build Specs
Crucial M4 128gb SSD
i3-6100
Z170a Gaming Pro
RX 470 GPU
Crucial 2400 MHz DDR4 Ram 8GB

I have tried:

-Formatted USB drive and remade boot media

-Plugged SSD into SATA port 1

-Diskpart clean and convert to GPT the SSD

-Updated BIOS to latest release

Tried again and:

When I F11 to enter the manual boot select, the SSD is not given as an option
http://i.imgur.com/4apB1z6.jpg
I put a different drive with windows into my PC (not an SSD) and booted from that to see what was on the SSD. It appears to have a regular windows installation on it.
http://i.imgur.com/9SD3BkQ.jpg

Okay, so i think the problem has something to do with my windows install is not installing in UEFI mode, which is causing it to not be recognized as a boot disk by my motherboard.

So then I tried:

-Setting all the bios settings to UEFI (NOT legacy for anything)

-Running diskpart, clean the SSD, then convert to GPT (again)

-Reinstalling windows from media

After Paul's suggestions here I have tried again after:

-Creating new installation media by downloading windows.iso and using rufus with GPT mode

-Updating firmware on SSD to latest version

For some reason my SSD is still not UEFI. After the installation, the BIOS still does not recognize it at all in the boot priority list unless I toggle it into legacy mode.

It does appear in the storage section of the BIOS still, under SATA 1, it just isn't bootable.

So at this point I called Crucial customer support and the guy actually seemed very knowledgeable and tried to help. He suggested doing a firmware update to the SSD after i told him all of what i listed above. (I didn't even know this was possible, and i can't find any good information on it)

I did buy the SSD used from r/hardwareswap, the CDI showed it as super healthy and I don't think it has any problems from that.