SSD vs. Platter As Operating Drive?

mike_r_olson

Distinguished
Feb 17, 2009
I'm building a tech shop to open my first computer store. Now, first off, I have several years of experience fixing, building, and maintaining computers so my experience is pretty good, or well as good as diagnosing busted computers can be, as we all know it's a miserable headache doing that. It's like an episode of House trying to fix some computers... Now, for my question up for debate. It's a multi-part question, as I really would like some advice from some experienced power-users.

Here's my choice components:

Core i7 920 with CoolerMaster V8 cooler (probably won't OC, but looking more for longevity)
6 gigs of tri-channel DDR3-1333 (haven't settled on a brand yet, leaning towards Corsair or SuperTalent)
Asus P6T or Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P or MSI X58 Platinum SLI motherboard (Probably the MSI for the USB/FireWire/Sata/eSata connections)
ATI 4350 Vid Card (As I simply need DVI out and I'm buying an Acer 21.5" LCD with 1920x1080)
Dual SATA DVD Burners
Antec 300 Case
BFGTech 550W PSU ($55 on Newegg, BFG is a pretty good name I guess)
Vista Ultimate 64 (YAY TECHNET!!!)

Now, here's where I'm stuck:

Before I pose my question, the purpose of the computer is going to be for running data backups using Acronis TrueImage, running AV Scans using multiple programs, AND serving files across a gigabit network such as AutoPatcher, Service packs, etc.

I'm torn between using two small (32GB) SSDs in a RAID stripe as the Operating drive and buying a 1.5TB drive to house installation files and data backups, OR buying two 1TB drives and setting a stripe on those. I know which of the two options is more stable (Definitely the first option), however I wonder if there is that much more of a difference in performance to warrant spending $200-250 on two small SSDs.