Starting a computer repair/setup/consulting business - just me - need tips

Mojo88

Honorable
Sep 24, 2013
I am contemplating doing some computer setup/repair/consulting work as a sideline business. I have always been pretty good with mechanical and electronic stuff. I've built a bunch of my own computers and I have been a computer consultant to friends and family for many years (I'm 62 years old).

I have an existing office (insurance type business), which I share with a partner. We make decent money, but I get bored sitting around the office.

I am think about targeting home users and offering setup/repairs/consulting in customer's homes, where possible or feasible. Obviously, some repairs would need parts or a lot of time, and for those jobs I would bring the computer back to the office. I would be doing Windows-based machines only, no Apple stuff (don't know if this is a big drawback or not).

Part of my business plan is to offer the following services:
1) free pickup and delivery
2) in-home repair service, where possible
3) in-home consultation & setup to help folks use their computers easier
4) in-home setup of printers, other devices and /or networks

I know enough to be dangerous, but I am not an IT pro by trade. I would absolutely want to get some additional training, so any tips or tricks, or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks, Dave F. in Rhode Island

Solution
You will need:
1- Insurance
2- Customer service skills: Be able to put up with irate, angry customers who will treat you like you're not worth a damn. This is real. If my negativity sounds annoying wait until you see your customers. Have you ever worked in retail (cashier) or in the restaurant business (waiter)? These types of jobs will train you to put up with hell.