Question Steps for upgrading HDD to SSD and fixing whatever mess i did with my BIOS?

Jtull55

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2014
Context is i had some boot problems months ago, upgraded and bought some new parts (RAM,MOBO,CPU) that needed upgrading or replacing but ended up having to mess with the boot options in my BIOS to boot as legacy as my HDD would not be recognized as a boot-able device which worked for a fair while. honestly i'm a amateur at this stuff so not sure what i did but after 2 or so months my pc couldn't post again and had boot error LEDS on my motherboard and apparently taking out one of my 8gb RAM sticks solved it(???).

But i've decided to get a SATA SSD and put my OS and maybe 2-3 games on it and just reset as much as i can. My questions are:
  1. What are the steps to upgrading my hard drive so as not to lose what i want on it and to fix these boot problems I've been having?
  2. Will this even fix the problems my PC has been having with booting as well as programs/games freezing, very slow loading of web-pages/Chrome and 100% hard disk usage in my task manager?
  3. Is there a way of making sure i dont have to pay for a new Windows 10 OS e.g. cloning it? or do i have to cop it and pay for a new OS?

My build is:
CPU: AMD RYZEN 5 3600 3.6 GHz 6-Core Processer
Motherboard: Asus ROG STRIX B550-A GAMING ATX AM4
GPU: 4GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
Storage(currently): 1TB Seagate SATA HDD
Storage (upgrade) : Samsung 870 EVO 2.5in SATA SSD 1TB
RAM: 2x8gb Corsair LPX Vengeance 2400 Mhz (now only 1x8gb after taking one out)
PSU: Corsair RM 750W 80+ Gold fully modular ATX (2019)
Case: Deepcool TESSERACT BF ATX Mid tower case

Lutfij

Titan