Strange boarding rules loophole favor Privs

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: alt.games.vgaplanets4 (More info?)

This is mostly used by the Privs using the siren harp.

Example:
A UEA dreadnaught has 8,000 crew and 80,000 guests.
Say 5,000 HG and 75,000 troops aboard.
Now several siren harps are used on the dreadnaught
reducing its crew to zero.

Next turn the priv board the empty crewed dreadnaught
with only 10 crew men. What happens those 10 priv
crew take over the ship sending all 5,000 HG and 75,000
troops out of the airlock into space.

How can this be?

I believe those UEA troops and HG should be able to have
a boarding combat fight to retain control of the ship.

But then their are other situations where this also
happens in combat using weapons that have high kill power.
If you can kill all of the enemy crew before the ship
explodes in combat then you can capture this ship.
At the end of combat the last ship that fired killing
the last crewman sends over 10 of its crew to now crew
the newly captured ship. However if this ship still
has a lot of troops or HG aboard that have not been
killed by the high kill power weapons being used then
they just go poof out of the airlock spaced
by the 10 crew men you send over.

This is where the Borg have a problem when they capture
ships this way or using the boarding laser in that any
enemy troops or HG still aboard become Borg troops and
HG and of course the Borg can only have one HG so
at the end of the turn the Host kills all Borg HG
and then recreates one new one somewhere usually not
where the Borg player wants him to be.
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: alt.games.vgaplanets4 (More info?)

interesting. I, as a consumate Priv, have never been able to simply
board and capture a ship with no crew - this has to be new.

The combat issue is what it is - 0 crew, ship captured, guests are
spaced automatically. I was not aware that the Borg actually got the
guests as drones.

interesting.

Priv can tow an ship with no crew adn on tic 50 the ship is captured -
combat with no combat -
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: alt.games.vgaplanets4 (More info?)

So, you are saying that I can just waltz up to the T-rex I just stopped
and pick it up clean with just 10 crew? No boarding hassle?
Seriously?

I have to sim this with the current host - it has not ever worked that
way for me at all - the combat yes, but the picking up ship with no
crew? no....
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: alt.games.vgaplanets4 (More info?)

So am I to understand that putting troops and HG as guests on a ship
does nothing to deter priv boarding that ship and or using a lady
royale to steal the crew and just show up and the ship is theirs??

This would mean any ship with less then 7000 crew...thats a big ship,
with say 20,000 troops or whatever, would become Priv because of 1 Lady
Royale!!!, I thought the Meteor was dangerous enough.

The explanation of them being in freeze doesnt stand, what about those
ships that have gambling capablities, they still generate cash and
colonials still breed???

I think boarding needs to consider the guests as well. They r guests
not cargo..as in pods where they r indeed frozen.

Cheers.
ps.I'm all in favor of making boarding a bit more difficult..atleast if
guests r involved, then some defense can b done to safe gaurd ships or
make it difficult to capture. It sounds like u just select the ship u
want and go board it.
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: alt.games.vgaplanets4 (More info?)

Actually I did read a change in the Host where ur weapons fire in
relation to the percentage of crew u have left..so the ships will not
fire in a VCR, and
come 2 think of it, the combat rules did state that as soon as your
ship gets to zero crew the attacking ship beams over replacement crew
and takes it over....sounds like a test is needed.

Now where did I leave that Moscow ship. any one know if a cargo pod
with crew set to transfer to ship will negate this possible disaster
for well 1 turn any way........:)
 

Braindead

Distinguished
Mar 2, 2005
4
0
18,510
Archived from groups: alt.games.vgaplanets4 (More info?)

I think the guests are in Carbon Freeze, so they don't fight back....the
borg probably thaw them and assimilate them...the privs just dump those
human popsickles :)

"Adm. Tronthor" <mislick2@yahoo.com> wrote in
news:1109701743.298400.272450@f14g2000cwb.googlegroups.com:

> interesting. I, as a consumate Priv, have never been able to simply
> board and capture a ship with no crew - this has to be new.
>
> The combat issue is what it is - 0 crew, ship captured, guests are
> spaced automatically. I was not aware that the Borg actually got the
> guests as drones.
>
> interesting.
>
> Priv can tow an ship with no crew adn on tic 50 the ship is captured -
> combat with no combat -
>
>
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: alt.games.vgaplanets4 (More info?)

Keep cool. The Lady can only "steal" a max of 20% per turn. That would
be 1400 crew max.

Fabian
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: alt.games.vgaplanets4 (More info?)

The Boarding problem of boarding from a corner reaching
boarding range before combat range at speed 190+ has been fixed.
What my reference to the Borg was about, refered to; the fact that
with 2.5 milion troops aboard an Anni their are few ships
out there that can defeat a boarding party of 2.5 million troops.

But if your ship also has a boarding laser and you try to board
the Anni at the same time- now if your boarding action happens first
then the second Anni boarding action gets erased by the host.
As in it never happens and you can in fact save ships this way
from Anni's boarding them.

Their is a chance that this technique might also prevent the
Privs from stealing cargo by beam transfer. I am still working
on this.

Sparrow wrote:
> Is the Borg boarding still a problem? I had hoped this is fixed since
> quite some time!
 

gary

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
1,052
0
19,280
Archived from groups: alt.games.vgaplanets4 (More info?)

Fabian wrote:

> Keep cool. The Lady can only "steal" a max of 20% per turn. That would
> be 1400 crew max.
>
> Fabian
>

Depends how many Lady Royales you use doesn't it?