Strange PC behaviour - freezing and unable to boot

adapt132

Honorable
Mar 28, 2018
Hi there. This is my first time posting so I'm sorry if I break some rules.
Basically, last Saturday, my PC started to behave pretty worryingly.
But essentially it was early morning and my brother got on. Immediately I noticed the graphics card fan was very loud, but I didn't think much of it because it was an old graphics card and I simply thought I'd clean it and buy a new fan for it later in the day (it was only like 9 o' clock). About an hour later, the PC froze for a couple of seconds and later shut down and wouldn't reboot. It tried to reboot itself for like 5 minutes but to no avail. Alright, at this point I told my dad (I'm only 15) to take the computer to a local tech shop so they can troubleshoot it. Days pass until yesterday, when we finally got word from the shop telling us that the computer apparently worked fine when they tried to boot it. It was beyond confusing. Today I turned on the PC and it actually worked fine, I even played the game Hearts of Iron IV without any problems for 30 minutes - 1 hour (except the graphics card fan which was still very loud). This is behaviour I have never seen and even the tech shop had no idea what it could be.

Specs:
Intel Pentium G3260 Dual Core (3.3 GHz)
8 GB RAM
Nvidia Geforce 210
(I don't know if you need more specs but I'll find out if needed)

A couple other things to note: the graphics card I recently got (about a week or so ago) and when I first installed it the PC froze (although it was because my monitor cable wasn't put on properly and was loose and came off and I didn't notice). Then I removed the graphics card and the PC wouldn't boot up, having the exact same effect as it did on Saturday. When I put the graphics card back, the computer magically started working again.
- I've never cleaned the computer's power supply, so it could be that but I'm not sure