Question Strange PSU/CPU Issue

Mar 12, 2022
Hi Guys,
Im an experienced PC builder and have built over 100 PC's and am having a strange issue which ive never seen before and am hoping someone has experienced it or has any ideas on cause and resolution as im stumped.
Ive got a Ryzen 5 5600x CPU which seems to be causing a short or tripping the short protection in any PSU i connect.
I go to boot and the PSU just clicks. Yes ive confirmed this PSU works as its straight out of another build and it boots any other CPU or build fine.
Now to confirm this PSU was fine i have another PSU out of another build which i also tested and the same problem occurs.
I initially thought this was a faulty motherboard so ive got a brand new B550 to replace the initial B550 and the exact same thing happens on either board with any PSU i try to connect to it.
Ive got them breadboarded and only running CPU, Cooler, RAM and GPU for post purposes.

Any ideas because iam out of ideas at this point.

Thanks in advance!!

Karadjgne

Titan
Ambassador
And I'm assuming you've double checked that none of the pins are compromised? As in either bent or gotten Arctic Silver 5 or liquid metal stuck at the base between pins?

If that checks, I'd agree with @Ralston18 and the cpu is defective, an internal short that's tripping the psu protections. Although generally a shorted psu will trip, click, only once and require a power off (pull the plug or hit the button and wait a second) reset.

Mar 12, 2022
And I'm assuming you've double checked that none of the pins are compromised? As in either bent or gotten Arctic Silver 5 or liquid metal stuck at the base between pins?

If that checks, I'd agree with @Ralston18 and the cpu is defective, an internal short that's tripping the psu protections. Although generally a shorted psu will trip, click, only once and require a power off (pull the plug or hit the button and wait a second) reset.
Yeah can confirm no bent pins or thermal in the pins

SciotoMoving