Question (SOLVED) Suddenly very low fps

Jun 25, 2022
Hello everyone,

I've been using this pc for about 1,5 years and I never had any problem until today. I dusted my pc today and when I tried playing some games I noticed that I had very low fps, like where I would get 90fps average I would now only get 30fps average.

My gpu readings seem normal, 100% gpu usage, 1950mhz core clock, but my temps went from 62° average to only 50-52°.

This might explain why my temps are lower: my gpu wattage is way lower than before, like 70-80 watt lower.

I then looked at some recorded game footage I had made before this problem occurred and the only difference I could find between the recorded footage and the results I'm getting now, is that my gpu temperature now is 10° cooler, wattage is 70-80 lower and my performance decreased by like 60fps. The rest of the readings were all the same as I have now. (So 100% gpu usage and an average 1950mhz core clock)

I reinstalled my gpu drivers with DDU, but that didn't fix my problem. I then tried to see if my gpu power cables where plugged in fully and they were. And yes I'm using my RTX 3080 not my integrated graphics, the 10700KF doesn't have integrated graphics anyways.

I don't really know what else I can do to fix this problem, I just find it really weird that my gpu memory usage suddenly dropped by 40% compared to before and that my gpu wattage is also lower than before.

I hope I gave you guys enough information, if I’m missing anything please let me know.

Specs:

GPU: RTX 3080 10GB

CPU: I7 10700KF

RAM: 2X8 3600MHZ CL16

PSU: RM850X

Motherboard: Tomahawk Z490

I also play on a 4K monitor

Edit: this happens on all games not just battlefield 2042.

SOLVED: