[SOLVED] Suggestion for System Replacement Build

bzowk

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2009
Hey Guys -

I'm a tech enthusiast who's been building custom PCs for years. I've upgraded my primary home system for a few years to the point where the next step will unfortunately require me purchasing a new motherboard, CPU, and RAM. Since this is such a big investment and I'm not rich, I wanted to post here to get suggestions for what I should go with. Below are the specs of my current system, what I use it for, and a few notes...

The PC crashed today and the only way to get it back running was by removing the overclock which has been applied for over a year with no issues. Due to that, I don't know how much longer the hardware will last so need to get something soon.

Current System Specs
  • Intel I7-3770k CPU @ 3.50Ghz (Overclocked to 4.0Ghz until today)
  • Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
  • 32gb RAM DDR3-1600 (x4 G Skill RipjawsX F3-1600C9-8GXM)
  • Storage: 14 Total Disks
    • C:\ - 256gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD (OS & Apps)
    • D:\ - 43.5tb disk pool - 11 disk (10 platter + 1 SSD managed by Stablebit used for file & media storage)
    • E:\ - 1tb Hybrid SSD - ST1000LM014-1EJ164 (Game installs)
    • V:\ - 256gb Samsung 850 EVO SSD (VR Installs)
  • 1000 Watt Power Supply
  • Windows 10 x64 1809
  • PCIe & Peripherals
    • GeForce GTX 970 (4 GB)
    • Fresco Logic USB 3.0 xHCI Controller (PCIe Card that Adds x4 USB3 ports)
    • HighPoint RocketRAID 2720 SAS Controller (Provides additional SATA ports for pool)
    • Oculus Rift, 3 Sensors, & Touch Controllers (Takes 4 USB ports alone)
    • x2 monitors
    • Huge tower with much cooling running off of GRID Fan Controller
    • Numerous USB devices
What I Use it For
  • Work which involves numerous apps being open simultaneously so much multitasking
  • File share host for media on disk pool - usually accessed via SMB
  • Web Host - Hosts some python-based apps on various ports which automate certain system aspects