[SOLVED] Swapped out air cooler, now computer will not POST. (SOLVED)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phosphonothioic

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2012
[UPDATE: After completely rebuilding the system, I turned things on and after 5 attempts, it finally booted in Windows. :unsure: I think the machine is just possessed.]

Greetings everyone -

I have a self-built system that I've been using since Dec 2019. For some reason, every time I open the thing up and swap something it will no longer post afterwards. It'll turn on for 27-28s then power cycle again. Every other time this has happened I've simply re-seated the RAM and GPU and the problem will sort itself out after one or two attempts. After installing a Hyper 212 EVO today, I simply can't get it to POST, let alone boot.

I have reseated the GPU and RAM three times, testing each stick separately and in each channel pairing. PSU is powering up all the fans (including GPU) and the keyboard/mouse. Monitor is giving me a "No Signal" message, which is typical when this has happened in the past.

I did re-seat the cooler once, giving it and the CPU a thorough cleaning per usual. CPU pins are clean and straight.

SPECS:

• Asrock B450M/AC
  • Ryzen 7 3700X
  • MSI RTX 2070 Super Ventus OC
  • G. SKILL 32GB (2x16GB) Ripjaw (F4-3200C16D-32GVK)
  • Intel 660p M.2 2280 2TB
  • Seasonic FOCUS 650W 80+ Gold
  • Win10 64-bit
I am certainly not claiming to be an expert, hence my presence here, but I've been building PCs for 25 years and I've never had a build where it has this failure to POST issue after every hardware change (or even when I simply take stuff out to dust). At this point, I think I'm going to take everything out with the case and treat it as a new build, even though NOTHING about the system has changed since I last booted successfully. Just today's shenanigans with the new cooler.