Question Switch From 2700x To 9700k?

DefinitelyNotTom

Respectable
Jul 20, 2017
ok, here is my situation. I bought all of my parts over a 1 and 1/2 year period and haven't built still. I have never built before and din't realize that my RAM kit is optimized for intel (as are the vast, vast majority). I then bought a 2700x and an x470 mobo.

My RAM kit has samsung b die, BUT I see on the mobo QVL that the model with the closest model number to mine (same model number, except the color code at the end) will only run at 2933, despite being a 3200 speed kit.

So is it worth selling the cpu at a loss, selling the mobo at a loss, buying the expensive 9700k (and losing hyperthreading), having to buy a cooler. more expensive mobo, etc... to get my kit running at 3200?

Not overclocking the cpu either way, not going to often game on it, etc... I do trust Intel more, though.

I may have to sell the mobo regardless, because I am really wishing I had bought a more compact case, which would mean geting a diff mobo. Only thing is I can't find ANY case that is compact AND reviewed as being extra quiet and cool enough. I thought about the Nano S, then read that it is still not very quiet. The r5 anf r6 are mroe like what I am expecting, but are big cases.

DefinitelyNotTom

Respectable
Jul 20, 2017
What sucks is I thought another option could be sell my RAM at a loss and buy different RAM, but according to that QVL next to nothing runs much faster, anyway... Especially any from G.Skill.

I've heard before that once you get up around 2667+, there's very little gain in faster memory, anyway, though...

Another thing is just that so many companies choose intel and I can't help but keep thinking that people high on AMD are overhyping it. I'm using an ancient AMD now, though, and have mostly been happy over the years.

G.Skill works great with Ryzen. I bet you have no issue getting RAM to run at advertised speeds.