System sometimes booting with onboard gpu instead of discrete.

kevin1212

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2008
I have a bit of an odd issue here. Recently downgraded from Windows 10 back to 7 as I had to deal with too many bugs and preferred more stability (issues with hdmi audio as well as some games simply not working). What finally drove me to downgrading was constant game crashes in spite of updating and refreshing drivers. Back to 7 for about a week now and all seemed well when I encountered more crashing. When forced to restart I was getting no video but heard everything else running, swapped the hdmi cable onto the motherboard instead of the discrete card and got video, even though the discrete card was installed and properly seated (and was working 5 minutes ago), couldn't understand it. Windows recognized no discrete graphics card.

Checked the BIOS, nothing odd (btw I'm by no means a pro but have been building my own systems for years). Opened the case to see if the card fans were at least still spinning when I powered on, now to take my side panel off I have to disconnect the fan attached to my side panel from the motherboard. When I did that then booted I got video from the discrete card, figured I'm dealing with a problem with either the card, motherboard or maybe power supply.

I then uninstalled the gpu drivers and installed the drivers that came with the graphics card, no more crashes. I figured that was at least a step in the right direction. So following that I shut down, reconnected the side panel fan and closed up then booted one more time to make sure all was well. Again it booted from the onboard gpu. Knowing the only thing I did differently was reconnect the side panel fan I took it back off and tried one more time, then it booted with the discrete card, coincidence I don't know. As it stands I am booting with the discrete card while my side panel fan is not connected.