[SOLVED] Tdr failure with 3080ti

Oct 7, 2021
Hello, this is my first time posting and I rarely post anywhere in general so sorry if I make a mistake.

I'm having a problem with my computer build which I've recently completed. Here is the spec sheet first:

Mobo: ASUS ROG STRIX X570-I
CPU: Ryzen 9 5950x
CPU Cooler: nzxt kraken z63
GPU: EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 Ti XC3 ULTRA 12G
RAM: Corsair Dominator 3600Mhz 2x16
PSU: silverstone sx700 pt sfx (700w)
Boot Drive: Intel 660p 1tb
Other Drives:
samsung 87p Evo 4tb sata ssd,
Toshiba ocz rd400 1 tb nvme

To preface I used my computer as is but with a 1070 while waiting for the 3080ti to come in for about a week with no issues. When I installed the 3080ti it would give me the vga debug light which was constantly on, so I made sure to re-seat and check connections, after which it would boot but bsod erratically either after bios splash, at desktop opening google or everytime when trying to install drivers. The vga led also occasionally comes on requiring me to keep attempting to restart the pc until it gets past the vga post.

At first I thought it was either a faulty GPU or PSU but when I put the gpu in other systems it worked perfectly fine and didn't crash and posted every time. For both systems which they had i5-3570k with 8g ddr3 cx650m psu and ryzen 5 3600 with 16gb ddr4 and same psu.

Putting the 1070 back into the system and it runs fine, and thinking that it may be that the power supply needs more wattage I put the cpu into eco mode (draws 65w) and still the same results of constant crashing and vga light on.

I swapped a cx 650m power supply into the system and same result, so I'm thinking it might be the motherboard or riser cable.

I wanted to see if anyone has any insight on this before I try RMAing anything as I'm at a loss on what to do

Thank you very much and if need any more info please ask

Edit: forgot to write the the bsod error is: VIDEO_TDR_FAILURE (nvlddmkm.sys) on windows 10 pro

Solution