[SOLVED] Temperature Issues i7 8700k + Corsair H100i

DylanCamps

Distinguished
Feb 11, 2014
Hey everyone,

I just want to start off by saying I'm extremely new to CPU overclocking and don't really understand cooling too much.

I recently got an Intel i7 8700k paired alongside the AIO Corsair H100i. The base clock for this CPU is 3.7GHz so I wanted to try overclocking being as I've heard this CPU is great for doing that. I've overclocked to 4.6GHz but when stress testing @ 100% load my temps get extremely high, reaching 88 degrees Celsius on some cores from a cold boot. I know these are overclocked temperatures, but I'm just a little confused as I have seen people with the same CPU & AIO combo overclock to 5GHz with lower temps that I'm getting at 4.6GHz.

Screenshot-2.png

Specs:
Case: Corsair Carbide Series 400C
GPU: NVIDIA RTX 3070
CPU: Intel i7 8700k @ 4.6GHz
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4 @ 3000MHz
PSU: Corsair TX-M 650W

I've reapplied the thermal paste once already (I'd be willing to give it another go if you think that I could've messed that up). I've also ordered another 2 120mm case fans as currently I only have 1 intake and 1 exhaust in the case in case that may help.

Any advice would be appreciated greatly!

Solution
I would also call those fairly normal temperatures for 163W with a h100i.

Not sure where you were getting those other overclocking results from, but you never know if they de-lidded, lapped, just happened to get a nice cooler/cpu surface match, or just a very lucky CPU that operates at low voltages.

My 7700k would run at 5Ghz, after delidding, and with a full custom loop, it would still hit 80C (though I was running at 1.4 volts, which is a little above the recommended 1.35 volt daily max.

Eximo

Titan
Ambassador