temps when overclocking i7-4790k

dmartelli84

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2012
Hey all. Though im still a noob, ive been overclocking and customizing rigs for about 3 years now. i used to have an AMD cpu and board that i had overclocked to 4.1GHz which was a big leap. Recently i switched platforms from AMD to intel, then i got a new liquid cooling unit that is compatible with my cpu, then i got a new case and power supply to fit the new water cooler lol. So the issue im having now odd to me. i know im missing some type of detail in the UEFI. Since making these upgrades my cpu has been running extremely cold. 24C at idle and about 36C when playing high demanding games. Now i overclocked the vcore to about 1.4 to maintain a 4.8GHz OC. it ran stable when stress testing but the temps ran from about 76 to 87 and spiked past 90 at times. Thats too hot for my taste. i generally dont put it past 75C. Now i know a high vcore will heat the chip but i have to be missing something here. ive never seen a cpu run as low as this one runs when its at about 4.4GHz. And now, Im at 4.7GHz at 1.330 vcore and 1.9input volt and its running stable at about 60-70C. It seems like i have more room to play around(4.8-5GHz is my goal here) but as soon as i put it at 4.8 its unstable until the vcore reaches 1.4v then it gets too hot for my taste. Am i missing something here? There has to be some settings in the UEFI i dont know about that could really help with core temps. Any tips and advice would be highly appreciated.Heres my stats:

Intel® Core™ i7-4790 (Stock:4.0GHz Turbo4.4)

8GB (2GBx4) DDR3/1600MHz Dual Channel Memory

AMD Radeon HD 7970 3GBvram (clocked at 1100MHz coreclock)

Evga supernova 1000w g2 powersupply

1TB SATA-III 6.0Gb/s 32MB Cache 7200RPM HDD

ASRock Fatal1ty Z97X Killer LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Corsair Hydro Series H110 280 mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler

Phanteks Enthoo Pro case

Solution