The Beginnings Of A Decent (Gamer's?) Build?

TerranRevirell

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2009
Ok, here it is: I'm a noob @ this.

I said it. And now that its out there, I'm going to reveal my master plan for this system: Future Upgrades.

I'd like to be able to upgrade this list of parts into a decent to semi-decent gaming computer. Mind you, nothing heavy that will require 2 graphics cards or for me to pump liquid nitrogen through the case... but something decent.
Something for Spore & Photoshop. Something I can run multiple programs on w/o having them crash like a college student after the 3-day-caffeine-induced-cram-session has passed.

Before I get to the listing stuff, these are the questions I have:
1. Will my current anemic 450w power supply run the components in the 'Already Have' & 'Have In Mind' list?
2. How big a power supply will I need in the future (with everything in the 'Have In Mind', 'Already Have' & 'Future Components' lists included)?
3. Any suggestions on an IDE to SATA card?
4. Any suggestions on a heatsink/fan for possible OCing if I get the 940?
5. Just double checking, but will the memory I have listed be compatible with the motherboard I have listed? I'm antsy about buying it & getting the wrong memory.
6. Do the raptor (1000rpm) & velociraptor (1200rpm) hard drives really make that much of a difference as far as how fast the OS & programs load?
This is what I have in mind so far & I'd like your opinions on it.
AMD Phenom II X4 920 2.8GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Processor - Retail
Not quite sure if I should go with this one or the 940 for OC-ability.
OR
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Black Edition Processor - Retail
I'll need a fan & heatsink if I get this one. A fan that doesn't have LEDs or whistles the National Anthem, but cools well. I won't be OC-ing this initially, but may in the future.