Third independent hard drive with an existing raid 1 array

designguy1

Distinguished
Dec 16, 2009
I have a raid one set up with two drives on a workstation with an adaptec raid controller. fault tolerance is the key here...I wanted to add a third independent drive just for files that are not quiet as important as those on the raid1 array(IE cad drawings being developed). also i have no room left on my arrayed drive as it is composed of two very very fast but small 38gig 15000 rpm seagate barracudas. the 15000 array is on fiber and the new 300 gig is on SATA the raid bios can see the drive and it is formatted but i cant see it in windows....i am very new to this what to do?

r_manic

Administrator
I would suggest—to minimize any chance of issues—that you back up all your data, format the two drives, and start from scratch. Build a new RAID 5 array in other words.

If you're pressed for time. You can simply add the third drive to your array using the utility you originally used to build your current array. I would suggest backing up your data in any case.

designguy1

Distinguished
Dec 16, 2009
I don't want issues that's for sure..I backup my data every night to a power edge server running MSSBS 2005.

I'm trying to avoid a total "A" position re-start, although the thought of a clean speedy machine has its tempting lures....With your info in mind (thank you)I am still at a loss on how to configure the third drive with the raid bios/boot tool? I can see the drive there and have formatted it there. i just don't see any choose of making it a stand alone drive. I'm feeling pretty dumb at this stage.....you know the guy with the propeller on his hat.......

ShadowFlash

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2009
well obviously you should not add a 300GB drive to an existing 38GB RAID 1(E) array, nor should you wipe it all and start over to create a mismatched raid 5....just silly....A backup would be a good idea anyhow, 38GB is not that much to burn to DVD's....