[SOLVED] Thought it was the power supply, but now something else?

Jun 14, 2020
Hello!
This is my first time posting on here, so apologies for any critical information that I may miss. I'm currently helping a friend try to resolve a rather big computer issue that is causing the computer to turn on only on occasion.
What originally was happening is that he would go to turn on his PC and the leds and fans would flicker for a moment before doing nothing else, it was first assumed to be a power supply issue which he promptly replaced, but now we're having more complicated issues and hope to reach out to someone who might know about this as googling it is giving us very little results.

So,
Currently, when chassis fans are plugged in, computer won’t boot
To note:
Fan leds are dimly lit when this happens
Fans are only connected to PSU (Full-power only, no controller)
When unplugging the 24-pin the leds will turn off

When there are no chassis fan leds on, the computer will boot normally.
When fans are unplugged from the PSU, the computer will also boot normally.

Computer will only hard shutdown, the display will shut off but the computer will stay running when we try to soft shutdown, when we manage to get it to turn on, which leaves us with the same dimly lit leds and have to go through the whole process of pulling the 24-pin from the motherboard to turn it off.

Hopefully this paints someone a decent picture of a problem that could occurring as I'm running out of ideas.

Specs:
Processor: Intel i7-3770k
Motherboard: ASUSteK P8Z77-V LX
Ram: 16 GB DDR3

Solution