three stage cooling oil and water chilled peltier Hobby experiment only

monoceros21

Commendable
Jun 19, 2016
so first i am a mechanic not a pc builder and this is not a pc we a discussing this is a cooling system. this is a hobby/experiment out of my curiosity because I've noticed something in almost all mineral oil pc threads. no one seems to understand that oil is best cooled with water( and to the one who said water is used to cool cars not oil you are wrong water cools the oil) through liquid to liquid heat exchange, and due to the fact that oil can cover more surface area than a water block via heatsink the thermal conductivity factor can be made up for.

that aside the origin of this experiment is i do want a mineral oil pc because of the cool and wtf factor, but why not make it work well to.

the idea now. every mineral oil pc i have seen uses air to liquid heat exchange to keep the oil maintained but because of oils ability to retain the heat it does absorb this is not effective. so my idea (which credit to 4ryan6 to posting the peltier build that is stage 3 of this) is as follows.

first oil cools the pc cycled through a liquid to liquid heat exchanger, second chilled water through the exchanger as well in a cross flow configuration. this means that the coldest water flows in where the coldest oil flows out and the same for the hot sides. third chill the water with peltiers. fyi im not talking about water really more like non conductive coolant with a real low freezing point. a forth stage could be considered to be keeping the hot side of the peltiers as cool as possible since longer runtimes would be better for the cold water and relay thermostats are already planed in this build

the hope is that if the pc i put in this build were to raise the oil to say 50c with out the chilled water. the chilled water could bring it down to in a dream world 25 in reality maybe 30 to 35 c as the maintained temp.