[SOLVED] TP Link Deco M5 not performing well

Dec 25, 2021
Hi,

I have a 5G subscription from my ISP. It came with a Huawei EchoLife WA8021V5 wifi, connected with a LAN cable. When standing next to the wifi and running speedtest on my mobile phone, I get around 420mbps. When I switch the Huawei to one of my Deco M5, I get about 50mbps. I then connected my PS5 with LAN to the Huawei and PS5 gives about 380mbps. I then connected PS5 with LAN to Deco M5 and PS5 shows about 40mbps.

Is something wrong with my Deco M5 or is this speed difference to be expected? Strange thing is, when I use the Deco M5 own mobile app, it's own speed test gives about 520mbps.

That is strange when you look that part number up they call it a ONT. That generally means it has a fiber connection. If it did you would not be able to replace the device with your tplink router.

This means you must have some kind of modem or a actual ONT that you are plugging these routers into.

So I assume you are testing with just a single deco unit and you have plugged the game console directly into one of the lan ports. If the test program on the tplink did not test at 520mbps I would be looking at the cable going to the modem.

Even a very cheap router can do almost 1gbit of traffic wan/lan. Now if you have configured any form of traffic filter or firewall that may be what is slowing it down. I would factory reset the device and then only configure the admin and wifi passwords leave all the other setting default.

Dec 25, 2021
That is strange when you look that part number up they call it a ONT. That generally means it has a fiber connection. If it did you would not be able to replace the device with your tplink router.

This means you must have some kind of modem or a actual ONT that you are plugging these routers into.