Transporting my custom PC on a plane

directorJay

Honorable
Jan 8, 2014
Hello everyone I need some help and suggestions on moving transporting my custom PC on a plane.

I am a college student who recently graduated and is planning to move back to my hometown (checkpoint!)

I built a custom PC more than a year ago that looks like this
l7xgZPU.jpg

I still have almost all the original boxes of each hardware.

So basically, I have 2 AIO coolers, and a 290x with a bracket so I'm not sure if I can still put that in the original box.

I have an SSD on the back and for the HDD's I think I'll just carry them with me.

The airplane ride is just about an hour-
How do you think should I approach this, should I remove all parts and completely disassemble the whole computer?

What is safe to leave on the case and be checked-in as luggage? I have the original box of my case with the styrofoam and everything, and almost all hardware.

Please I need help I'm very confused, I also have other equipment to bring with me (camera equipment) and of course my clothes, my monitor, etc. What is the most efficient way to transport and not give myself a hard time to reassemble?

shakeel amlay

Reputable
Mar 8, 2015
Keep the mobo,cpu and fans on (not the cpu cooler though, might damage something during transportation. Put the rest in their boxes, put them in a suitcase and check it in as luggage. If the new coolers on it are the same size they will fit normally, if not take out the big foam or cardboard holder that is inside its box. Bubble rap the GPU and put it in. If it is still too big to do that you might wanna try a bigger box or remove the aftermarket coolers or at least the part with the tubes and put that in a seperate box.

I agree in some sense, but checked bags for a consumer flight are handled differently than UPS etc right?
I checked my tower when i moved across country, my only mistake leaving the heatsink on the cpu. It bounced around, came out and bent pins.

USAFRet

Titan