Tricky Drive Recovery Problem (OSX)

austinjpersonal

Reputable
Oct 2, 2014
So I've had a couple problems with WD Drives in the past but this time its bit me the worst. I'm a freelance photographer and regularly store my original and edited files on my external drive, I've done this for the past year, cataloguing thousands of pictures and videos for personal and model use as well as backups for my computer and other devices. Now the drive will not connect and WD says that I'm SOL.

The problem (as I can tell):
The drive will not mount correctly

The facts:

• - I run OSX High Sierra as of now
    - WD My Passport 1TB (formatted HFS+)
    - I believe this started as a result of me having to force eject a couple times in a row, my drive was super slow and i haven't defragmented it ever.
    - Can be read by disk utility but all attempts to repair the drive via Disk Utility or any WD software have been a bust.
    - Currently I'm using EaseUS to recover the files but that it hasn't finished so I don't know if I'm even able to offload the files much less if they're salvageable yet.
    - Disk Utility recognizes the name and port and size of my drive but the mount button does nothing
    - Disk utility First Aid tool fails (says it's already unmounted)

I CANNOT format. I store all of my final files in the cloud but I have a couple unedited shoots on the drive that I still need (these are all that are truly holding me back). I am quite tech savvy, however, I'm not a technofile. I know there are data recovery services and tools out there (I'm open to suggestions of services you guys have used), but instead of jumping through windows to get my files back I wanted to ask if you guys can just fix the door.

Anything you guys come back with would be helpful! Thanks!

Solution
1) Mac doesn't need to do a defrag. That is a windows thing