[SOLVED] Trouble Overclocking i7-8700k

Oct 27, 2020
Hello, this is my first post here. Hopefully I can find some help :confused_old:

I have an i7-8700k that I am trying to overclock. It's struggling to do 4.7ghz even when I bring it all the way up to 1.43v. Most people I talk to can get much higher frequencies with less voltage. I'm very new to overclocking so I'm afraid I may be doing something wrong.

Relevant Specs:
  • i7-8700k, Vega 64, 16gb DDR4 3200 ram
  • Asrock Z370 Taichi motherboard
  • Cooler Master ML240 cooler and Fractal Design Meshify C Case < [Should be adequate cooling right? I've got lots of case fans as well]
I've tried using fixed mode at various voltages, as well as offset mode, which I don't really understand but was worth a try. Did I just lose the silicon lottery very very badly? Thanks for any help that you might be able to offer. Let me know if I need to post more specifics.

Edits:

I checked https://siliconlottery.com/pages/statistics and they say the top 99% of CPUs should be able to hit 4.9 at less voltage than mine... makes me think there's definitely a problem

Last edited:
Solution
Hello, this is my first post here. Hopefully I can find some help :confused_old:

I have an i7-8700k that I am trying to overclock. It's struggling to do 4.7ghz even when I bring it all the way up to 1.43v. Most people I talk to can get much higher frequencies with less voltage. I'm very new to overclocking so I'm afraid I may be doing something wrong.

Relevant Specs:
  • Cooler Master ML240 cooler and Fractal Design Meshify C Case < [Should be adequate cooling right? I've got lots of case fans as well]
I've tried using fixed mode at various voltages, as well as offset mode, which I don't really understand but was worth a try. Did I just lose the...

Barty1884

Retired Moderator
It's struggling to do 4.7ghz even when I bring it all the way up to 1.43v.

While there's no guarantee of higher clocks, you should be able to achieve 4.7GHz all-core.