[SOLVED] Trouble with activating XMP profile using G.Skill Ripjaw V 4000mhz

Geoff Leven

Distinguished
Jun 2, 2013
Firstly specs:

Gigabyte z390 aorus elite rev 1.0 (bios F9)
i9 9900KF
G.Skill Ripkjaws F4-4000C18D-16GVK (timings 18-22-22-42)

So, the default XMP profile that I try to activate in the bios just doesnt boot period, the furtherest Ive gotten is the cycling windows loading circle then it freezes.
After some initial digging I found this PDF (https://download.gigabyte.com/FileList/Memory/mb_memory_z390-aorus-master_191113.pdf) mentioning the memory I currently have which has different timings, which are: 18-19-19-39 @ 1.35v

So I just simply adjusted the timings and voltage to match the information in the PDF and now I can boot to windows. However checking the memory info with CPU-Z
it is reporting memory is running @ 1800mhz. I understand I need to double this number which gives me a working clock speed of 3600mhz.

I have zero experience overclocking memory nor understand how timings work, actually its going to be some good research for myself over the xmas break.
In the meantime could someone possibly shed some light on this matter and tell me if there is any hope of getting RAM running at its advertised speed of 4000mhz.

Thanks in advance.

Solution
You can try doing the following. Enable the XMP profile and then manually set the memory speed to 4000mhz in the BIOS advanced memory settings. Leave the timings and voltage at the values set by the XMP profile. Don't set the memory timings at what the motherboard manufacturer has on some list, set it at what the memory manufacturer SAYS it is supposed to be set to based on the memory kit model. It's best to simply enable the XMP profile and then if it is not showing it set as 4000mhz, manually set it to 4000mhz.