Trying to connect multiple computers to NAS via Ethernet, please help, total newb

Michael Anthony

Reputable
Apr 25, 2015
Hello all,

I am a photographer that has three computers at our studio. I am trying to keep all of our data accesible to one server or drive. We purchased a QNAP TS-453 Pro. I need to keep a fast transfer rate because of the heavy data loads we are going through so just hooking up our computers to the NAS via the router is not a great option.

The guys at Best Buy told me to hook the ethernet cables up directly to the NAS. I did so and the MAC's seem to work perfectly, however I cannot find the drive on my Windows 8.1 PC which is my main production computer.

The NAS has USB ports on the back but I do not think I can connect directly to those.

I can still return the NAS if this is not the best solution for my needs. Any help would be appreciated.

Michael Anthony

Reputable
Apr 25, 2015

I am not really sure what this means, are you saying that there is an accessory that I need to purchase that will allow me to get better performance?

Not even sure where to start here if you do not know what port bonding means.

The ethernet ports on the back are not meant to hook different hardware devices to. It might be possible to run it in that mode but it is not the normal way it is used.

If this device could only run 1g you would hook a cable to your router or a switch and all your pc to that router or switch. This would allow all the machines to access the NAS. The problem is they must share 1g to the nas but the nas itself can run at 3.2g.

If the router/switch and the NAS had a 10g ports you could connect it up and the end machines could then use the full 3.2g. What this NAS has instead is 4 ethernet ports it combines together to get what looks like a 4g cable.

Just like you would need a special switch to run 10g you need a special switch that can combine 4 ports to get 4g. Many of the manged switches can do this.