Question Trying to find out why I can only run games at 50-60 fps

Dec 10, 2022
Good day to all.

First of all, I'm not very experienced in general, so please go easy on me if there is any kind of User error that I'm making, or anything like that.

I recently changed from a Series S to a PC.

These are the specs.

Ryzen 7 1700.
Evga GTX 1080-8GB
16 GB Ddr4 ram at 3000mhz (2933, Xmp is on and working fine)
MSI B350 Gaming plus motherboard.
1 ssd - 200gb
1hdd - 1tb

I mostly play Destiny 2 and Fortnite.
In destiny 2, I get around 40-50 fps in "high mob density areas", so in general, any activity.

As per what I see online, most of the people with similar specs, are running the game at higher FPS, in Ultra. (I have everything on medium).

Fortnite same thing, I can't run the game smoothly at any configuration/settings.

My idea was, upgrade my GPU to a 2060, although after some research, it seems I would be better with my 1080, as it seems to get similar or slightly better performance comparing to the 2060.

So I reinstalled the OS on the SSD, updated all the drivers in the GPU, changed some of the settings in the OS to get higher performance, but that is not helping, in some cases the performance even gets worse when I reduce the game settings even more, more choppy, less fps, etc.

My second thought, was, maybe having a 75hz monitor is impacting the performance, I run a DPP cable, tried V-sync, it helps a bit with the choppiness, but in general it's still unplayable.

Would this be my old CPU, causing any kind of bottleneck or something?
It seems strange to change from a less then 300eur console to a PC, even if the specs are fairly "old" and not even being able to pla the games the console runs smoothly. (same resolution too, 1080).

Or even my motherboard that is very old and somewhat is limiting my hardware?

Any ideas/help?

Last edited:

boju

Titan
Ambassador