Question Trying to fix a driver problem, Windows driver verifier gives me a BSOD when I boot the computer. How do I indentify the faulty driver?

Mercron

Commendable
Jun 8, 2020
37
2
1,535
0
The BSOD gives me


Besides that, it also sometimes says its Wdf01000.sys, but its a windows component and I already ran sfc /scannow a couple times. I have had this problem for years on this computer (horrible lag, display drivers crashing). I clean installed windows like 10 times at this point. Im a bit lost but I want to identify the driver causing the problems. How should I go about that? Driver verifier doesnt seem to help because windows cant boot at all and all it does is give me a BSOD. The dump file says nothing at all, I tried opening it with BlueScreenView and the field Caused By Driver is completely blank.

My specs:
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-9400F CPU @ 2.90GHz
16 GB DDR4 RAM
1650 NVIDIA GFORCE



Thanks beforehand.
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
60,419
5,079
166,290
10,417
parts of windows generally don't cause BSOD

If you reinstalled windows 10 times and its till playing up, cause is more likely hardware

Try running memtest86 on each of your ram sticks, one stick at a time, up to 4 passes. Only error count you want is 0, any higher could be cause of the BSOD. Remove/replace ram sticks with errors.
Memtest is created as a bootable USB so that you don’t need windows to run it, just to make it.
 

Mercron

Commendable
Jun 8, 2020
37
2
1,535
0
parts of windows generally don't cause BSOD

If you reinstalled windows 10 times and its till playing up, cause is more likely hardware

Try running memtest86 on each of your ram sticks, one stick at a time, up to 4 passes. Only error count you want is 0, any higher could be cause of the BSOD. Remove/replace ram sticks with errors.
Memtest is created as a bootable USB so that you don’t need windows to run it, just to make it.
Hey, I really appreciate you answering. Here is the tricky part though, I just bought new ram, 2 8GB sticks. I had this exact same problem with the old single 8gb ram, and I already ran that program and it said 0 errors. I also replaced my PSU, GPU, CPU and motherboard recently, aswell as my mouse and keyboard and audio device.

This computer is pretty much exactly the same as the one I had 1 year ago. I did also change my hard drive from a normal SSD to m.2 SSD, and its still giving me these issues.

Every time I got a new piece I tried the driver verifier and every time it gave me the same problem. Its essentially a completely new PC from 1 year ago yet its still giving me the same problem.
I cannot possibly fathom how this is even remotely possible but please believe me, im not trying to <Mod Edit> anyone. I dont really know what else to do besides selling the computer and moving on. Any ideas on how I could identify the issue?

Thanks again.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
60,419
5,079
166,290
10,417
So what didn't you replace? I have seen people replace almost everything and it was what they kept that was cause. Did you get PC looked at by repair tech at all? 2nd opinion? I don't replace things unless I know they are problem.

What PSU/Motherboard/Storage do you have? fill in gaps in this
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-9400F CPU @ 2.90GHz
16 GB DDR4 RAM
1650 NVIDIA GFORCE
is ram on the QVL of the motherboard and/or tested by ram maker in PC?
 

Mercron

Commendable
Jun 8, 2020
37
2
1,535
0
So what didn't you replace? I have seen people replace almost everything and it was what they kept that was cause. Did you get PC looked at by repair tech at all? 2nd opinion? I don't replace things unless I know they are problem.

What PSU/Motherboard/Storage do you have? fill in gaps in this

is ram on the QVL of the motherboard and/or tested by ram maker in PC?
Motherboard is PRIME H310M-D R2.0

SSD is SANDISK SSD G5 BICS4

PSU is MPB650

I just checked the QVL for the ram since I had no idea that was a thing. Neither rams are on that list. It was the guy on the repair shop who installed those rams when he changed the motherboard. Still, could this be the sole issue causing me all this trouble?

As a side note, my cursor is usually VERY noticeably laggy, no matter the mouse, but whenever I boot up in safe mode the cursor feels smooth as butter. Not really much data here but it is whats leading me to think that its just a faulty driver instead of hardware... :/
 

Mercron

Commendable
Jun 8, 2020
37
2
1,535
0
what are the codes on the ram?

I think we best check everything instead of try to guess..

did you have ssd the entire time?
try running this on the ssd and check its health, should have tests - https://support.wdc.com/downloads.aspx?lang=en&p=279
wd owns sandisk now.
Codes are KF2666C16D4/8G and CT8G4DFS8266.C8FE

I will paste below what the disk health software is showing me.

By the way, thank you for all the time and help. I will gladly buy you a coffee or something if we figure this out.
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
60,419
5,079
166,290
10,417
using 2 different sticks from 2 different makers isn't going to help or certainly clear up any confusion. They can conflict and cause problems. Its not ideal to mix sets.

I don't think its total of problem but it might not be helping

Kingston Fury - https://www.kingston.com/dataSheets/KF426C16BB_8.pdf
Crucial - https://www.crucial.com/memory/ddr4/ct8g4dfra266

Crucial tested this set which are real close to the stick you have - https://www.crucial.com/memory/ddr4/ct16g4dfra266/ct18636904 so I would ue it. I haven't looked at Kingston.

https://www.crucial.com/compatible-upgrade-for/asus/prime-h310m-d-r2*0
yours is 3rd down on that page. so it should be fine

I would just use the crucial stick.
 

Mercron

Commendable
Jun 8, 2020
37
2
1,535
0
using 2 different sticks from 2 different makers isn't going to help or certainly clear up any confusion. They can conflict and cause problems. Its not ideal to mix sets.

I don't think its total of problem but it might not be helping

Kingston Fury - https://www.kingston.com/dataSheets/KF426C16BB_8.pdf
Crucial - https://www.crucial.com/memory/ddr4/ct8g4dfra266

Crucial tested this set which are real close to the stick you have - https://www.crucial.com/memory/ddr4/ct16g4dfra266/ct18636904 so I would ue it. I haven't looked at Kingston.

I would just use the crucial stick.
I tried using only that one for about 2 weeks because I thought that the fury one could be giving me problems and exactly nothing changed sadly...
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
60,419
5,079
166,290
10,417
well, just stick with one for now. We know its unlikely to be cause but having 2 different sticks in could add extra problems. Once we figure it out, you could add the stick again.

what hasn't been replaced?

As a side note, my cursor is usually VERY noticeably laggy, no matter the mouse, but whenever I boot up in safe mode the cursor feels smooth as butter. Not really much data here but it is whats leading me to think that its just a faulty driver instead of hardware... :/
safe mode easier on hardware as well, its not a perfect test to say its drivers. Hardware that doesn't work with drivers doesn't complain in safe mode.

I find it unlikely to be drivers after a number of installs, you would have to be really unlucky.

which version of win 10

  1. right click start
  2. choose run...
  3. type winver and press enter
  4. current version is 21H2
 

Mercron

Commendable
Jun 8, 2020
37
2
1,535
0
well, just stick with one for now. We know its unlikely to be cause but having 2 different sticks in could add extra problems. Once we figure it out, you could add the stick again.

what hasn't been replaced?


safe mode easier on hardware as well, its not a perfect test to say its drivers. Hardware that doesn't work with drivers doesn't complain in safe mode.

I find it unlikely to be drivers after a number of installs, you would have to be really unlucky.

which version of win 10

  1. right click start
  2. choose run...
  3. type winver and press enter
  4. current version is 21H2
Its 21H2.

I think everything got replaced unless im really being forgetful... The only thing I still keep is the monitor. Maybe the monitor drivers are going crazy?
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
60,419
5,079
166,290
10,417
You don't need monitor drivers. Mostly.

in case you bsod again
Can you follow option one on the following link - here - and then do this step below: Small memory dumps - Have Windows Create a Small Memory Dump (Minidump) on BSOD - that creates a file in c windows/minidump after the next BSOD

  1. Open Windows File Explore
  2. Navigate to C:\Windows\Minidump
  3. Copy the mini-dump files out onto your Desktop
  4. Do not use Winzip, use the built in facility in Windows
  5. Select those files on your Desktop, right click them and choose 'Send to' - Compressed (zipped) folder
  6. Upload the zip file to the Cloud (OneDrive, DropBox . . . etc.)
  7. Then post a link here to the zip file, so we can take a look for you . . .
there aren't any tests for motherboard but as its a new one and same problems exist, we just ignore it unless we test everything else and still can't find anything

Do you have latest BIOS on motherboard?

Try running this on CPU - https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/download/15951/19792/intel-processor-diagnostic-tool.html?

I don't think GPU would be involved in I/O errors really.
 

Mercron

Commendable
Jun 8, 2020
37
2
1,535
0
You don't need monitor drivers. Mostly.

in case you bsod again
Can you follow option one on the following link - here - and then do this step below: Small memory dumps - Have Windows Create a Small Memory Dump (Minidump) on BSOD - that creates a file in c windows/minidump after the next BSOD

  1. Open Windows File Explore
  2. Navigate to C:\Windows\Minidump
  3. Copy the mini-dump files out onto your Desktop
  4. Do not use Winzip, use the built in facility in Windows
  5. Select those files on your Desktop, right click them and choose 'Send to' - Compressed (zipped) folder
  6. Upload the zip file to the Cloud (OneDrive, DropBox . . . etc.)
  7. Then post a link here to the zip file, so we can take a look for you . . .
there aren't any tests for motherboard but as its a new one and same problems exist, we just ignore it unless we test everything else and still can't find anything

Do you have latest BIOS on motherboard?

Try running this on CPU - https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/download/15951/19792/intel-processor-diagnostic-tool.html?

I don't think GPU would be involved in I/O errors really.
I have the minidump from my last BSOD. It was automatically created by windows. Heres the link: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1D-UvxN0KLoVhMl9DFbL1ueRo-AjDF-cf/view?usp=sharing

Yes, the motherboard bios is completely up to date.
 
Aug 3, 2022
44
1
35
0
While waiting for a dump decoder
.. Just a suggestion

That bsod perhaps indicates kernel mode driver issue
That your mouse gets laggy could be network, hdd or USB drivers

You've checked drive .. although thats not definative, that should be put aside for now
You've checked memory - ditto

next relatively easy check seems to be check your USB and network (wifi?) card drivers?
Perhaps try different versions of drivers for each if possible - even an older version

What USB devices do you have plugged in?
mouse/gamepad ...?
 
Aug 3, 2022
44
1
35
0
Every time I got a new piece I tried the driver verifier and every time it gave me the same problem.

Its essentially a completely new PC from 1 year ago yet its still giving me the same problem.
so what is the same ... even if its same gamepad or same usb card or same wifi card
and uninstall any specific mouse driver and use a generic driver for a while
 

Mercron

Commendable
Jun 8, 2020
37
2
1,535
0
so what is the same ... even if its same gamepad or same usb card or same wifi card
and uninstall any specific mouse driver and use a generic driver for a while
Different mouse and keyboard. Different audio device (tried the generic and the ones on the realtek website). I also have a graphic tablet plugged in, which is also different (drivers are also different)

I also tried the older drivers on my network and audio devices...

My pointing devices' drivers are the generic windows drivers.
 
Last edited:
Aug 3, 2022
44
1
35
0
That dump appears to be saying some lowish level driver is passing corrupt or duff info

Prime contenders once memory and HDD are out is:
Graphics, or network, USB/PCIe type devices and their drivers

Drivers need to be at the very least fully disabled when system checked as many of these level drivers remain running even when the device is removed (eg an express card USB3 addon.

That your mouse is stuttering, if there isn't a very high CPU load or temp
- most likely means system interrupts
Check task manager while thats happening.


So what is the same on these almost completely different systems?
If It works OK in safe mode ... 99% you've disabled the driver causing the issue

as you've replaced mobo - seems unlikey (but not impossible) its that
- very unlikely
 
Last edited:
Aug 3, 2022
44
1
35
0
Is your nvidia common to both systems?
Does the issue occur when display goes to sleep?
*check power management/screen etc timeouts)

Run msinfo32 : Look at windows error reporting
Then check event viewer

If you look deeper : fffff803`044ba710
 
Last edited:

Mercron

Commendable
Jun 8, 2020
37
2
1,535
0
Is your nvidia common to both systems?
Does the issue occur when display goes to sleep?
*check power management/screen etc timeouts)

Run msinfo32 : Look at windows error reporting
Then check event viewer

If you look deeper : fffff803`044ba710
I changed my GPU. I was running an AMD card on the other mobo and had the same issues.

I dont really know what you mean with "display goes to sleep", however, everytime I open a certain song on a rhythm game (osu!), my graphic drivers restart out of nowhere. Always in the same part of the same song. This also happens at random times, but always with a prior trigger (eg. watching a preview of a certain youtube video will crash the drivers aswell.)

Here is a demostration that I recorded: https://www.reddit.com/r/osugame/comments/w9op9f View: https://old.reddit.com/r/osugame/comments/w9op9f/my_screen_goes_to_black_whenever_i_try_playing/


Besides that, I tried doing a search on the windos error reporting tab for the code you posted but nothing came up.

As for the 100% identical devices, only the monitor.
 
Aug 3, 2022
44
1
35
0
I changed my GPU. I was running an AMD card on the other mobo and had the same issues.

I dont really know what you mean with "display goes to sleep",


Besides that, I tried doing a search on the windos error reporting tab for the code you posted but nothing came up.

As for the 100% identical devices, only the monitor.
event viewer is part of windows administrative tools, but its a mess if you dont know what you are looking at

https://www.windowscentral.com/how-use-event-viewer-windows-10

msinfo32.exe : you run it from the command box and theres a windows error section listing errors

https://cpux.net/help/msinfo32

Turning the display off after a certain period is in power options - click on your power icon and examine the options available - defines when various power saving options like turning the screen off happen - if at all - disable them and see if it sorts the problem


DriverView is a free utility which will give you all the drivers running and their addresses - but that address from your dump may well point to hal or kernel or serial kernel debugger or suchlike

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/driverview.html
 
Aug 3, 2022
44
1
35
0
so summary:

Disable all screen timeout or screensaver options so the screen just stays
(consider switching all power saving off for a test period)on, whether in windows or GPU driver if just screen doesn't sort it)

oops : corrected:
Run msinfo32 and check out the errors (bottom)
 
Last edited:

Mercron

Commendable
Jun 8, 2020
37
2
1,535
0
event viewer is part of windows administrative tools, but its a mess if you dont know what you are looking at

https://www.windowscentral.com/how-use-event-viewer-windows-10

msinfo32.exe : you run it from the command box and theres a windows error section listing errors

https://cpux.net/help/msinfo32

Turning the display off after a certain period is in power options - click on your power icon and examine the options available - defines when various power saving options like turning the screen off happen - if at all - disable them and see if it sorts the problem


DriverView is a free utility which will give you all the drivers running and their addresses - but that address from your dump may well point to hal or kernel or serial kernel debugger or suchlike

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/driverview.html
Which address? fffff803`044ba710 ? That doesnt seem to match any actual driver's adress
 

Mercron

Commendable
Jun 8, 2020
37
2
1,535
0
I already have the power options properly configured so my monitor doesnt turn off. Its the drivers crashing whenever it turns off, its not the timer or anything.

Edit: I keep crashing. The event viewer keeps poiting to KERNELBASE.dll. Any idea?
 
Last edited:

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS