[SOLVED] Trying to fix a PC problem that involves BSOD, freezes, and black screens. Any suggestions?

Apr 3, 2023
I've been experiencing a lot of crashes and BSOD errors on my Windows 10 PC. It happens more often during intensive tasks such as 3D rendering (using GPU renderers like Octane), but also just at random moments. The most frequent BSOD error is DPC_WATCHDOG_VIOLATION.

I'm no PC expert so I apologize first of all for my ignorance. I've been searching a lot online for information. Here is what I have attempted (unsuccessfully) so far:

- Updated NVIDIA drivers

- Updated to the latest version of Windows 10

- Ran a DISM command

- Ran a CHKDSK command

- Ran an System File Checker (SFC) scan (no errors)

- Ran DDU and installed latest drivers

- Ran Windows Memory Diagnostic (no errors)

- Dusted the inside of the computer

- Updated Octane Render plugin

- Updated display drivers

- Scanned and fixed system files

I have 2 GPUs for 3D rendering, and I've been monitoring the temperature when the crashes occur. They don't seem unusually high. In the past they've reached around 70-80 degrees celsius without crashing during really intensive renders. But when these crashes occur they are nowhere near these temperatures.

In the event viewer the critical event is alway 41-kernel power.

Based on everything I tried my best guess is that the PSU might be failing?

I'm going to get it checked by a professional soon, but if anyone has any ideas of what I could try before that, it would be much appreciated.

Uploaded the dump files here https://www.mediafire.com/folder/262em2pvbw6k4/Minidump

EDIT (added make and model of all components):

CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 3900X - Processor 3.8 GHz
CPU cooler: Be quiet! Dark Rock 4
Motherboard: Asrock X570 Taichi
Ram: Crucial Ballistix Sport AT - 4 x 16GB
SSD/HDD: Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
GPU #1: ASUS TURBO-RTX2080TI-11G
GPU #2: ASUS TURBO-RTX2080TI-11G
PSU: be quiet! Dark Power PRO 11 1200W
Chassis: CORSAIR Carbide Series Air 540