Question Turning an ATX case into a SAS enclosure

Furi0usGe0rge

Distinguished
May 3, 2016
I'm new to the world of sas enclosures/expanders, but I'm looking for a way to add a lot more storage to a server, and I wonder if I need to buy a SAS enclosure, or if I can just repurpose these 12 hotswap bay, 2U chassis I have, and basically make my own enclosure. Since I'd like this to scale, I don't want to simply use one cable for every 4 drives. That means I need the hardware an off-the-shelf SAS enclosure has that "combines" the drives into one SAS cable.

The problem I'm running into is that I'm not quite sure how to shop for this. The parts I find that I believe do what I want are often just called "SAS controllers" or "SAS expanders", which means I have to sort through results that are 95%+ pci-e raid cards and hbas. This is the best option I've found so far, and it's pretty neat how it can be mounted in the IO shield slot. The only disadvantage is that I was hoping to keep a motherboard in the enclosure for use as a cold-spare.

This Intel product also looks to do what I need, but it also looks like it's designed for proprietary intel enclosures.

(I assume I would just rig the power button in the repurposed ATX case to start the PSU, which will power the backplane, the "controller", and whatever else I may want to put in there.)

Lastly, I'll need a card in the case with the motherboard, which already has 24 disks of its own. I like this product by Adaptec for that. It says it supports 36 ports over its 9 connectors, but the documentation says it only supports 24 attached disks, so I'm surmising that 12 lanes/ports are reserved for attaching SAS enclosures which would output over an external SAS cable, via a controller/expander device, as I was mentioning earlier.