Question TV Advice

jeyges

Distinguished
May 15, 2008
I’m just getting into 4K TVs, I’m finding it terribly confusing, and I need some help. I’ll try not to make this too long.

I recently bought a 55” LG UQ8000, an entry level 4K model, for my apartment living room. (A friend has numerous TVS and buys LG exclusively these days and recommended them, but he gets high end TVs.) I didn’t particularly care for the images I was getting across the board, but I was particularly struck by the way it rendered SD; it was noticeably blurry.

I should mention it’s a small living room and I sit 9’-10’ away from the screen. I know I’ll need a sound bar, but I don’t care about surround sound or any kind of home theater experience.

My only other LED TV is a 32” Vizio D series I’ve had for several years, that I don’t watch often (I’ve had it in my bedroom on and off). I never noticed a difference between the HD and SD channels; I don’t know if it’s because it’s a small TV or because its only 1080p, but the difference wasn’t as great. I didn’t even know about the difference between the two resolutions until now; I just assumed everyone was broadcasting in HD (I’m obviously behind the curve on all of this).

I returned the LG for a number of reasons in addition to the picture - 55” was much too big for me, I found the menu system laggy and I didn’t care for the LG’s “Magic Remote”.

My friend sent me a link to Best Buy’s Black Friday offerings. They had a 48” LG A2 OLED model, which they ordinarily sell for $1300, on sale for $549. It believe it was reviewed elsewhere on this site while it was on sale; the reviewer regarded it as an entry level OLED model and I think he said it was a decent buy if you could get it on sale, but there were better options for $1300 (which I wasn’t going to spend in any case).