TV Tuner/Capture - Complete Noob

Status
Not open for further replies.

thefear

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2006
Hey Guys and Girls,

Im looking at building a PC that im wanting to use only for TV Capture and playback on the TV,
Im pretty good (Most of the time) with building the computer and everything, But when it comes to Video Capture and Recording im completely useless.. I have no idea the difference between the 2. or what is a good one to buy.

Im planning on just using normal Free-To-Air TV (Not satellite or PaidTV).. And im wishing to record multi-able TV shows at the same time (Say record a show from Chanel 1 and Chanel 2 at the same time)..

What do you guys think would be a good card to buy? .. Ive tried reading information about it, but i have found very little so they must not be too popular...

So im hoping somebody here could help me out a hand and point me the right way!! .. thanks peeps!

Solution
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250

I think this is the video capture card Leon2006 meant to link and for free over the air digital broadcasts, this is about the best card you can get.

For more info, keep reading...

I've pretty much run the gamut from my first Video capture card, to an ATI All-In-Wonder card, to a dedicated TV Tuner Card, and now onto a Cablecard TV Tuner. It all depends on the source of the video. If the source of the video was static (camcorder, video tape) all you needed was a video capture card. If the source could change (i.e. changing the channel without changing your hardware set up), then you needed a TV Tuner card. If you didn't want two separate cards installed into your system, then you got a hybrid card like...
Well you are looking at a proprietary card and program but you can buy one with the drivers and software on newegg. I have only used ati tv tuners on a single channel using dscaller but that was it. Better make copies of the disk that comes with the card or you are screwed.

leon2006

Distinguished