Two Different IPs on One Network?

FolkJam

Reputable
Apr 7, 2014
Hi everyone,

I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to networking, so please excuse my ignorance.

I have a four computer office that was previously set up by someone that no longer works here. Everything, as far as I know, is ethernet connected.

Everything seemed to work well until my router began to die. I had it replaced, but it seems my network is now messed up. All four computers are connected to the internet, but under different IP numbers. The computers are behind one another. The first and fourth computers are currently operating under my Comcast Business IP Gateway, while the second and third computers have the IP assigned by my router. This is problematic because I can now only print on the second and third computers, as the printer's WiFi recognizes the router's IP and not the gateway.

All of my hardware is connected to the fourth computer. I have a Comcast Business IP Gateway, an Arris WBM760 modem, a BelAir 20E and a NetGear N300 router.

The person that set everything up left behind a file with all the technical information, which lists a "Verizon DSL Router", but I'm not sure what that is, as I have Comcast internet. It seems everything ran through that, including the printer, and the NetGear was used as a switch router.

Can anyone please advise how to fix this situation? I'm assuming that I need to lose the IP assigned by the IP gateway for the two computers, but I'm not sure how to accomplish this.

I apologize for the length of this, but any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

"All four computers are connected to the internet, but under different IP numbers. " Can you elaborate as to why this is a problem? Each machine should show a different IP number in the same subnet; they are assigned these by DHCP in most cases. I would be happy to expand on these terms if needed.