Ubuntu 9.10: The Karmic Koala Benchmarked And Reviewed

Page 6 - Seeking answers? Join the Tom's Hardware community: where nearly two million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.
Status
Not open for further replies.
G

I love Ubuntu. I have been using Ubuntu for a couple of years now and love it. I upgraded Ubuntu from 9.04 and the upgrade crashed my grub bootloader. I later found after upgraded my other OS Windows XP, Solaris 10 (10/09), OpenSUSE 11.2, and Fedora 12; I found that grub 2 was able to find and boot all my partitions except for Sun Solaris 10 (10/09) which is ZFS. I was able to manually configure grub and all is good. I have also found that Ubuntu is the only OS other then Windows XP which costs money where everything just simply works (wireless, mp3, flash, streaming video, server software installation). There is also an under stated feature of the new Ubuntu one; you can submit bug reports and I have found that they are fixed quickly (a couple of days) not even Microsoft can do that. Ubuntu is by far the best OS out there. I just wish I could get it preinstalled on a new HP notebook for less money then Windows 7 since it is free. Microsoft does not deserve the business on new CPU sales. Ubuntu is a better OS since it comes with a GUI for installing all the free opensource software that is out there. I personally don't plan on spending money on software ever again and I am an IT professional. Go Opensource.

Brainstorms

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2009
Adam, I'm surprised you had so much trouble installing 9.10... So far I've installed, configured, updated 9.10 on the following platforms:

64-bit systems--
ASUS M4N82d (AMD 955 BE, 4GB, 9800GTx2, SATA2, 750W)
ASrock K10N78 (AMD 64 X2 6000+, 4GB, 8800GT, SATA2, 500W)
ASUS M2V-MX (AMD 64 3800+, 2GB, 7300GS, SATA2, 380W)
Dell Precision 670 (Dual Xeon 3.8 HT, 6GB, 8600GSO, SATA1, 900W)
SuperMicro (Dual Opteron 250, 20GB, ATI RageProXL, SCSI-320, ?W)

32-bit systems--