Question Underperforming gaming laptop (Lenovo Ideapad, AMD Ryzen 7, Geforce GTX 1650)

May 8, 2023
Hi there

First message here, I found this forum looking for a solution with my laptop. I've read interesting discussions but nothing that helps me. And well... I'm not very experienced in this kind of subjects.

So... my computer is supposed to be a decent gaming one: Lenovo Ideapad 3, Nvidia Geforce GTX 1650 Ti, 16Gb RAM, a 256 Gb SSD disk + a 1Gb HDD, a AMD Ryzen 7 CPU. Problem: it's very slow at gaming, even after Windows being reset and upgraded to 11, and drivers updated (with Windows, then Driver Booster, then another whatever tool). I've passed Lenovo diagnostics without any issue (memory, hard drive...) and chkdsk returns nothing anormal too. The task manager stays very quiet, and the computer makes no noise. I have no issue typing this message.

Note that I've had blue screens on the first day. Since drivers are updated, I've had no more.

Yet according the Userbenchmark test, "Overall this PC is performing way below expectations (1st percentile)." https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/61330078

Checking online, I found this page about underperforming computers: https://cpugpunerds.com/how-check-pc-underperforming
The first section concerns CPU.
1. High temperature: I've checked temperatures with HWiNFO and they look good (around 45 C)
2. Outdated drivers: my CPU driver look updated (Driver Microsoft 22621.1485, March 2023 right?). I've tried to update it with the AMD software, just in case, but it didn't change so I think I'm good.
3. Faulty Power Supply: well I don't know, how I am supposed to check that?

I've installed CPU-Z as proposed. In the CPU screen, "Core VID" is between 0.7 and 0.8 V, and the clocks Multiplier is x4 - so it looks more like their low performance example that the normal one, definitely, but it doesn't say why. The AC adapter is a standard 135W Lenovo adapter, that looks genuine.