Question Unexplicably high CPU usage all of a sudden i5 7600k

Dec 26, 2019
So, first things first, thank you to anyone that takes the time to read this desperate cry for help.

These are my specs: i5 -7600k | GTX 1080 Ti 11gb | 16Gb RAM | SSD 250gb | Cooler: Kraken X62 | 750W gold PSU

My rig is two years old, I am very fond of my electronics and know my way around PCs fairly well, I am no pro, though, therefore I come to you to see if you can help me.
I have been playing a lot of games in the last two years in 2.5k resolution ultra at a fairly accceptable framerate 100 - 144 fps.

Thing is, a few days ago I noticed my CPU reving up randomly having huge clock speed spikes (from 800-4200) and my processor speed being fixed on 4,17 (i5 base speed is 3,79) overperforming for no reason, so I reset my energy plans and now i have two options: high performance on a constant 4200Mhz or balanced where it goes to 800Mhz base speed and spikes randomly up to 4200Mhz an down again, 30 times per minute. This is new to me, but maybe an update messes something up?

When I opened games like Fortnite I used to have around 65-75% CPU usage in total and now I get 100% being Fortnite alone around 85-90%.

So if I cap the framerate to 60, CPU load goes down to 50%. And if I put all of the settings on low in 2.5K it struggles to maintain 200fps. The weirdest part is it should be perfectly possible for me to play in 1920x1080 with 240fps, but my PC struggles to get over 180 even in low resolution...

The same in CSGO a very CPU heavy game, where I normally used to get 280fps, I now get 100 - 150fps, so there is clearly something going on.

So I did the usual, update drivers, closed programs to see if any of them was messing with the cpu, updated the BIOS and I even reset Windows...

NOTHING has helped, and I am so lost. Task manager says that fortnite or any game in question is the sole user of all that processing power. And there is nothing I can do to change it.