[SOLVED] Unreasonably high RAM usage with next to nothing running

Mar 9, 2020

This problem has been going on for a while, and I've just ignored it, but today I just magically decided that maybe I should do something about it because maybe it could get worse.

The picture I posted is my RAM usage with next to nothing running and 15 seconds after I used the "CleanMem" program to clean up my memory usage. The math just doesn't add up. I'll admit I haven't personally added it all together, but from just looking at what the top 10 are, I doubt the few windows related processes that take up about 1mb really matter considering resource monitor claimed more than 5gb's of memory was being used.

I'll say it now, I'm not a computer hardware or software newbie. I have a CS degree and I'm CompTIA+ certified. I'm not saying I know EVERYTHING about a computer, but I'm at the very least trying to say I know more than the bare-bones basics. Even after restarting my PC, my starting idle RAM usage is around 26-28%, with only 3 startup programs enabled which are Discord, Samsung RAPID Mode, and Lightshot which is a program I use to take screenshots. None of this is making any sense, and after going through 15 different youtube videos that have been of no help, I've almost lost hope.

If you need any other information from me that could help you diagnose this issue with me, please feel free to ask. This is such an odd issue and I don't have any bloatware or crapware that would cause this so I'm sincerely lost here.

Specs:
i7-4790k turbo'd to 4.4GHz
GTX 1060 (6gb)
2x8GBs DDR3 RAM
1TB Kingston SSD with Windows 10 64-bit

Colif

Win 10 Master
Do you have fast startup turned on? If so, the PC is never off. Meaning when you restart it the next morning its waking up. It never refreshes ram unless you do the restart command in power options. I generally don't use it as its not as helpful on an ssd - https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/4189-turn-off-fast-startup-windows-10-a.html