Updating processor and memory on a Gateway Solo 9100

Status
Not open for further replies.

VictorVictor5

Honorable
Mar 3, 2012
Hello Tom's community,

I am in the process of updating a very old Gateway Solo 9100 for a Linux distro. Now, I am a complete noob at this, so please - go easy on me. This is the first laptop that I have ever disassembled without a guide!

From the research I did, I found that the Solo 9100 uses an Intel 440BX motherboard, and it had a Pentium II processor with an MMC-1 configuration. Further research revealed that the highest processor speed I could get was 466 MHz (I have a 66 MHz FSB) on MMC-1. The original processor was a 266 MHz 66 MHz FSB. Now the 466 MHz is extremely rare, so I got a 400 MHz new for real cheap.

So here's where I'm at and I hope you can help me.

1.) I never flashed BIOS, and when I installed the new processor to see if it worked, the startup screen only reports a 300 MHz speed, when it's supposed to be 400 MHz. So I guess I need to "flash the BIOS." How do I do that and what file do I use. My BIOS version on there now is 8.43 Phoenix, and Gateway just goes to 8.47.
http://support.gateway.com/support/drivers/getFile.asp?id=13112&dscr=Solo%209100%20Flash%20BIOS,%20version%208.47&uid=334744230

2.) Do I need to put the old processor back in in order to flash the BIOS or can I leave the new one in there? If I do that's ok, I still have the laptop disassembled.

3.) I have read several posts about "overclocking." What is that exactly, and can it be done with this motherboard? If so how can I do it? Does it use "jumpers" or is this in software? One of my friends said that the 440 BX can handle 1 GHz speeds (???).