[SOLVED] Upgrade from a AMD Ryzen 3 1300x Quad-Core Processor?

Nov 18, 2020
I'm a bit new to computer parts and I built the pc I'm currently using a few years ago.

GPU : Radeon RX 580
CPU : AMD Ryzen 4 1300X Quad-Core
Motherboard : MSI Krait Gaming x370
RAM : 16gb

I felt like my pc was under performing in most games and I want to know if there is anything I could upgrade too. I just want to be able to run newer titles and such. Any suggestions? preferably in the 100's to 300's (cash wise)

Nov 18, 2020
you can put any 3000 series cpu in that mobo but you may want to update the BIOS to the newest first.

https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/X370-KRAIT-GAMING#support-cpu

a 3600 would be a noticeable upgrade and can be had for less than $200
I was looking around for a 3600 and I found this. It's a
"AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core, 12-Thread Unlocked Desktop Processor with Wraith Stealth Cooler" and I was wondering if this could be a good upgrade? I'm a bit slow when it comes to buying parts cause I don't want to buy something wrong. If you have any recommendations I would surely love to look into them as well!

Math Geek

Champion
Ambassador
a 580 should be fine for 1080p for most games so long as you lower settings when needed. a 3600 would be a big upgrade for cpu power for sure.

with that in place you an start saving for a gpu upgrade down the line. it will cost more than the cpu for sure so getting the cpu first is a good first step while saving for whatever gpu you decide on.

i use a 1650 super which is similar to a 580 and a 3700x. i have no problems at 1080p in the games i play, though i don't play any high end AAA shooters or anything like that.

Last edited:

Math Geek

Champion
Ambassador
I was looking around for a 3600 and I found this. It's a