Upgrade from intel to AMD, compatibility check with current system.

WeskerEnd

Honorable
Oct 17, 2016
Hello, thanks for your time.

As you've read, I want to upgrade, mainly for games, occasionally video editing (HitfilmExpress).

I currently have the following:
ASRock B150M-HDV
i3 - 6100
GTX 1060 6GB
2x4GB DDR4 2400Mhz G.Skill Ripjaws 4
PSU Corsair CX430
(2 HDD, 1 SSD, 1 CD/DVD, 2 case fans)

An i7-7700 would be a very big jump in performance AFAIK (and I guess as simple as swapping the CPU?), but its price alone is the same as getting a new B350 motherboard + Ryzen 2600, which is an insanely better and smarter choice from what I've been reading these last few hours. And if I pay a significant extra, I could get the 2700x which I'm sure will last 5+ years for my needs (I've been using this i3 for the last 2 years+).

About my current PSU, I've used MSI's and CoolerMaster's PSU calculator, and it looks like even if I get a 2700x it would be enough (I don't plan to OC).

And I guess the only other problem would be my RAM, not sure if I'd have to buy new ones because, holy, their prices are so high!

Question 1: Could I just buy a mobo and Ryzen 2700x and keep everything else? Is the PSU enough, would the RAM work?
(I know that I could get a big performance increase from a 2933Mhz+ RAM, but that's way out of my current budget, I'm really looking for the "not cheapest" but cheap and good purchase that I could get working with what I got).

Question 2: Is a 47% increase in price (Ryzen 2600 to 2700x) worth the extra cores/threads/higher clocks/better cooler? I think so, when you remember I don't want to OC, but please let me know what you think.
mobo+2600 = 493 USD, same mobo+2700x = 722 USD

Question 3: Is Asus ROG STRIX B350-F GAMING a good choice and does it come with updated bios for Ryzen 2? (I think so, but I may have looked at the wrong place, I really want a digital audio output).

Thank you so much.